//
you're reading...
All Posts, My Brighton

Bye Bye Brighton Wheel. I’ll Actually Miss You.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

When the wheel appeared in the autumn of 2011 I hadn’t been aware of its coming. Obviously the local news had passed me by- especially as I am far from an avid reader of The Argus.

I live very close to it now and became aware of a lot of objections that had been previously made concerning it. Personally, at the time, I thought it was a bit of an eyesore. Especially from the sixth floor of our tower block in North Road that had east facing views across the town.

I found myself getting used to it though and grew to rather like it. It’s probably my most photographed landmark. The ghostly view of the wheel on a cloudy day as one looked down Madeira Place was something to behold.

But now it’s on its way.

I never actually went on the wheel. I saw no reason. But it became an accepted feature of any seaside walk.

Soon we have the I360. Much controversy in its building. I’m not sure what to make of it, although I think it will work. Time will tell.

About Brighton Lines

brightonlines.com

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Stats

  • 24,924 Page Visits From 51 Countries
May 2016
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
